Return of the staff playlists: April 2014

It’s been a while since Hellbound shared what our contributors have been listening to and enjoying beyond the new releases or shows covered on the site. We figured it was about time to change that, so here, back by popular demand, is Hellbound’s staff playlist feature, the April 2014 edition.

The Lists

Danielle Griscti

LISTENING:
Old Witch – Come Mourning Come (oldwitch.bandcamp.com)
Chasse-Galerie – Mesnie Hellequin (reverbnation.com/chassegalerie)
Protokult – Marzena (protokultmetal.bandcamp.com)

WATCHING: Cosmos: A Spacetime Odyssey (www.globaltv.com/cosmos)

ANTICIPATING:
Völur demo (www.facebook.com/VolurDoom)
Inquisition appearing with Behemoth on the Metal Alliance Tour (inertia-entertainment.com/events/view/282)

Gruesome Greg

MUSIC:
Coffinworm – IV.I.VIII (profoundlorerecords.bandcamp.com/album/iv-i-viii)
Mos Generator – Electric Mountain Majesty ( soundcloud.com/promo-35/mos-generator-electric)
Dayglo Abortions – Feed Us a Fetus
Everything by Black Sabbath (except Forbidden)
The Shrine – Bless Off (theshrine.bandcamp.com/album/bless-off)

JUST FINISHED READING: Liar’s Poker by Michael Lewis
ABOUT TO START READING: League of Denial by Mark Fainaru-Wada and Steve Fainaru

Matt Hinch

LISTENING:
Admiral Sir Cloudesley Shovell – Check ’em Before You Wreck ’em (Rise Above)
The Shrine – Bless Off (Tee Pee) (theshrine.bandcamp.com/album/bless-off)
Below – Across the Dark River (Metal Blade)
Morgue of Saints – Monolith (self) (morgueofsaints.bandcamp.com/album/monolith)
Various – House of Burners Compilation (Pre-Rock Records) (shootingguns.bandcamp.com/album/house-of-burners-compilation

Rob Kachluba

MUSIC:
Trenchrot – Necronomic Warfare
Besieged – Victims Beyond all Help (unspeakableaxerecords.com)
Vampire – Vampire, vinyl LP (cmdistro.com/Artist/Vampire/96623)
Hooded Menace – Labyrinth of Carrion Breeze (www.doomentia.com)
Bolt Thrower – Warmaster, double LP (Century Media reissue)

Sean Palmerston

MUSIC:
The Allman Brothers Band – Play All Night: Live at Beacon Theatre 1992 (Sony)
The Baseball Project – 3rd (YepRoc)
The Drive-By Truckers – English Oceans (ATO)
Gravehill – Death Curse (Dark Descent) (soundcloud.com/newnoisemagazine/sets/new-noise-exclusive-gravehill)
HARK – Crystalline (Season Of Mist) (soundcloud.com/season-of-mist/hark-palendromeda)

TV: House of Cards, Season Two
GAME: Blackjack 21 for iPhone
MOVIE: Bula Quo
LOOKING FORWARD TO: Black Sabbath live in Hamilton ON on April 11, 2014

Jonathan Smith

LISTENING:
Pink Floyd – The Division Bell (EMI)
Strapping Young Lad – City (Century Media)
End of Green – Infinity (Nuclear Blast)
Lacrimas Profundere – The Grandiose Nowhere (Napalm Records)
Anathema – Weather Systems (Kscope)

READING: Playing The Whore: The Work of Sex Work, Melissa Gira Grant
WATCHING: Leverage (Series)
PLAYING: Castlevania: Symphony of the Night (PSX)

Kevin Stewart-Panko

MUSIC:
Enabler – La Fin Absolute du Monde (The Compound – advance, not yet available)
Trap Them – Blissfucker (Prosthetic – advance, not yet available)
Sweet Apple – The Golden Age of Glitter (Tee Pee) (teepeerecords.com/bands/sweet_apple)
Marnie Stern – The Chronicles of Marnia (Kill Rock Stars) (killrockstars.com/artists/marnie-stern)
Gridlink – Longhena (Handshake Inc.) (handshakeinc.bandcamp.com/album/longhena)

MISC.: Bill Burr – You People are All the Same (www.netflix.ca)

Renee Trotier

MUSIC:
Wild Throne – Blood Maker EP (Brutal Panda) (wildthrone.bandcamp.com)
Behemoth – The Satanist (Metal Blade)
Noah Gundersen – Ledges (Dine Alone) (exclaim.ca/MusicVideo/ClickHear/noah_gundersen-ledges_album_stream)
Biblical – Monsoon Season (New Damage) (brooklynvegan.com/archives/2014/03/biblical_stream)
Black Crown Initiate – Song of the Crippled Bull EP (self released) (blackcrowninitiate.bandcamp.com/album/song-of-the-crippled-bull)

EVENT: Metal Alliance Tour 4 featuring Behemoth, Goatwhore, 1349, Inquisition and Black Crown Initiate

Laura Wiebe

LISTENING:
Grand Magus – Triumph and Power (Nuclear Blast)
Dread Sovereign – All Hell’s Martyrs (Van)
Riverside – Shrine of New Generation Slaves (Inside Out)
Killer Be Killed – Killer Be Killed (Nuclear Blast)
Haken – The Mountain (Inside Out)

READING: The Gone-Away World by Nick Harkaway

Adam Wills

MUSIC:
Woman is the Earth – This Place That Contains My Spirit (womanistheearth.bandcamp.com/album/this-place-that-contains-my-spirit)
Woods of Desolation – As The Starts (http://woodsofdesolation.bandcamp.com/album/as-the-stars)
Grand Magus – Triumph and Power (Nuclear Blast)
Cynic – Kindly Bent to Free Us (Season of Mist) (cyniconline.bandcamp.com/album/kindly-bent-to-free-us-2)
Old Witch – Come Mourning Come (oldwitch.bandcamp.com)

MOVIE: We Are What We Are (2013)

Laura Wiebe

Laura is associate editor of Hellbound.ca and co-host of weekly metal show Kill Eat Exploit the Weak on CFMU 93.3 FM. She loves doom, prog, cats and basketball, believes in equity and social justice and is not cool with any form of discrimination, marginalization, harassment or oppression.