HELLBOUND RADIO: November 14th 2010 Playlist

During this week’s show, I stumbled across the online discography of Swedish all-female thrash band Ice Age and figured out how to play material loaded on one of the station’s computers on air. Back in the late 80s I used to love this friggin’ band, but the ravages of time being what they are, wasn’t sure how well their material had aged. I tell you what, four green women from Sweden banging it out some 22 years ago can still out-thrash the vast majority of what knots people’s panties these days. However, I’m gonna guess the inevitable reunion – because, in case you haven’t noticed, no band stays broken up forever – will likely tarnish the good name they built for themselves in my rose coloured world. But at least I know if Hellbound ever needs a tinny, demo-quality thrash injection in the future, we know where to go.

Hellbound Radio airs every Sunday, 9pm-midnight EST on 101.5 Mohawk College in Hamilton, Ontario. Listen on-line at www.indifm.ca

Your hosts are Albert Mansour, Sean Palmerston and Kevin Stewart-Panko

EXODUS – Piranha (Bonded by Blood, 1984)
ION DISSONANCE – You People are Messed Up (Cursed, 2010)*
DARKNESS – Locked (Defenders of Justice, 1988)
GRAVE – Turning Black (Extremely Rotten Live, 1997)
CREATION’S END – World Holocaust (A New Beginning, 2010)
ENTOMBED – Bonehouse (Hollowman EP, 1993)
KILL THE CLIENT – As Roaches (Set for Extinction, 2010)
DEEDS OF FLESH – Infested Beneath the Earth (Reduced to Ashes, 2003)
YSKELGROTH-The Apotheosis of Apostasy (Unholy Primitive Nihilism, 2010)
NAPALM DEATH – The Icing on the Hate (Order of the Leech, 2002)
SKULL HAMMER – Pay it in Blood (Pay it in Blood, 2010)
THE DILLINGER ESCAPE PLAN – Panasonic Youth (Miss Machine, 2004)
AGATHOCLES – Black Tea (This is not a Threat, it’s a Promise, 2010)
EVIL SURVIVES – Die like a Samurai (Powerkiller, 2010)*
MACABRE – Serial Killer (Unabomber, 1999)
OAF – No More Tickets for the Time Machine (Botheration, 2010)
GIRLSCHOOL – Can’t Do That (Girlschool, 1992)
CONTROL DENIED – Consumed (The Fragile Art of Existence – re-issue, 2010)
NUCLEAR ASSAULT – Price of Freedom (Third World Genocide, 2005)
NOCTURNUS – Lake of Fire (The Key, 1990)
NILE – Black Seeds of Vengeance (Black Seeds of Vengeance, 2000)
EXCRUCIATOR – Fatal Fornication (By the Gates of Flesh, 2010)
KROKUS – Ready to Burn (Headhunter, 1983)
KATAKLYSM – Stormland (The Prophecy, 2000)*
EYEHATEGOD – $30 Bag (10 Years of Abuse and Still Broke, 2001)
BLACK ANVIL – With Transparent Blood (Triumvirate, 2010)
DEAD SHAPE FIGURE – Blades (The Grand Karoshi, 2008)
VIXEN – Rocking Me Hard (Made in Hawaii, 1983)
CANS – Fields of Yesterday (Beyond the Gates, 2004)
ENTHRONED – The Vitalized Shell (Pentagrammaton, 2010)
ESTUARY – Creation Damnation (The Craft of Contradiction, 2007)
DARK THE SUNS – Black Sun (In Darkness Comes Beauty, 2007)
DARK TOWER – Shadow Keep (Corruption Within, 2000)
ICE AGE – Making My Mark (Demo ’88, 1988)

* = Canadian content

Sean is the founder/publisher of Hellbound.ca; he has also written about metal for Exclaim!, Metal Maniacs, Roadburn, Unrestrained! and Vice.