Happy 30th birthday to… Motorhead’s Orgasmatron

It seems almost impossible to believe, but thirty years ago on this date Motorhead‘s Orgasmatron album was released on an unsuspecting public. It was the first album to see release after the band’s 10th anniversary celebrations and was the first full-length to feature Phil Campbell and Wurzel on guitar, along with former Saxon drummer Pete Gill on drums.

The album was produced, somewhat controversially, by Bill Laswell. It is quite possibly the weirdest production ever heard on a Motorhead record, but with songs like “Deaf Forever”, “Claw”, “Dr. Rock” and the title track, Orgasmatron is a bonafide classic and one worth celebrating. If you’ve never heard it, check it out below.

Sean is the founder/publisher of Hellbound.ca; he has also written about metal for Exclaim!, Metal Maniacs, Roadburn, Unrestrained! and Vice.